Home > Wargames > On the workbench

On the workbench

My first Caesarean Roman Century

My first Caesarean Roman Century

 

This is a work in progress of my first Caesarean Roman Century.  I tried using the army painter shading method on the first few, but really didn’t like the results I was getting and changed to a more conventional style for the majority.  I am struggling to just paint the core troops to a minimal standard and focus on the command and front rank more.  

The painting has progressed quite quickly considering I have working and have a new born baby to also contend with and I am really enjoying painting at the moment.

Let me know what you think.

  1. March 7, 2009 at 10:00

    Sculls, great job mate. What is the process and paints you used for the helmets. Guido.

  2. scullyc
    March 7, 2009 at 17:27

    Dry Brush base coat with Games Workshop (GW) brazen brass, once that is dry apply GW rust brown ink wash – this is an old wash so not sure if it still exists, I am going to try a different wash on the last few models to see the effect. Then dry brush GW shining gold as the next layer, finally apply a very light silver layer on the extreme raised areas to finish. Depending on how I am feeling, I may apply a very thin brown ink wash at the very end just to take the edge off.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

