Home > Wargames > Army Painter

Army Painter

Usually, the challenge for wargamers is getting painted miniatures onto the tabletop and recently a very good product was released, which will definitely solve that problem.  Army Painter, is a product released by Warlord  Games, which enables you to paint the basic colours onto a miniature and then,  using Army Painter, you can add tone and depth to your painting in a fast and simple method.

I was a skeptic at first and also a purist, but not wanting to be precious or having any pre-conceived notions about how anyone puts an army on the tabletop, I was willing to take a look.  Guido did a few tests on his Pict Army, which I thought gave very good results.  I gave it a go on my Normans (see previous post), with mixed results.

The beauty of Army Painter and where it really comes into it’s own, is in the painting of Barbarian Armies.  Usually the number of miniatures required to be painted, is daunting to say the least, but if used strategically, I believe Army Painter will give a good result and allow the gamer, who doesn’t want to be a competition painter, to get his/her army onto the tabletop a lot faster, so that they can spend more time enjoy playing!  So for those people with families, small children or demanding spouses, it is a ‘Godsend’.

I am going to try to experiment with some techniques and see what results I get, on a Unit of late Saxons, which I intend to use as Duguth in my later Saxon Army.

Here are my first four, miniatures are Renegade.  NB:  they all haven’t had weapons attached and are obviously not based.

Renegade Miniatures, Saxons painted using Army Painter

Renegade Miniatures, Saxons painted using Army Painter

Let me know what you think and what are your views on Army Painter?

  1. August 10, 2009 at 21:24

    Great painting Sculls, Yep I have to agree I reckon the army painter is great re speeding the painting time, especially for the rear rankers. You’ll have the Saxons crunching that mob of Becca’s in no time.

  2. October 23, 2009 at 04:03

    Very good work indeed! I’m painting a British Celt horde and without AP it would be a non-starter. Look forward to seeing more of your work.

    Matt

    • scullmeister
      October 23, 2009 at 11:10

      Good luck Matt. I’ve got some Celts and I definitely will be using Army Painter for most of them.

  3. Dean
    October 26, 2009 at 05:35

    Nice finish. I thought of the same thing, about barbarian hordes and the like. If I ever get around to building an Indian army to fight my Macedonians, I’ll use a wash like Army Painter for most of the masses.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

