Home > Photography, Wargames > I finally made it there!

I finally made it there!

I finally made it to Maldon today, it is a nice little town which doesn’t know much about it’s historic past.

The battle at Maldon in AD 991, was fought between the Saxon forces the earldorman of Essex, Byrhtnoth and a Viking army lead by Olaf Tryggvason.

The accepted site of the Battle in Maldon, hasn’t changed since AD991 and is the oldest recorded in the English Heritage register of battlefields.

I took a number of photos of the battlefield and I can understand why the Saxons chose to make a stand, where they did.  The photos include a couple panoramas of the site, which I have to put together when I get back to Australia, next week.

Here is the plaque commemorating the Battle.  Keep an eye out for my future posting, which will include a full review of the battlefield walk and surrounds, including pictures.

Plaque commemorating the Battle of Maldon.

Plaque commemorating the Battle of Maldon.

 

Kind of sad that the plaque sits on a farm gate.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

