Home > Wargames > Where’s my motivation?

Where’s my motivation?

I can’t get motivated to paint, anyone got any sure-fire ways to get the paint flowing?  I just take some miniatures out, look at them, put them away, get some others out, look at them… hmmmm…

The choices:

  • Later Saxons
  • Early Saxons
  • Celts
  • Huns
  • Late WW1 Germans
  • Imperial Roman

I think I’ve just got too many unpainted miniatures  😦

Categories: Wargames Tags: ,
  1. December 6, 2009 at 00:28

    Why do you paint in the first place? I’m generally working on a project of some sort – a tournament army, a demo display or something for the blog. Get involved with some sort of public event – the dead line is great motivation.

  2. Geordie
    December 6, 2009 at 08:13

    Alternatively if the clutter of “lots of possible things to do” is too off-putting (I know that feeling), try putting it all away out of sight.

    In the process you may “hunger” for something and want to keep it out. If so whatever it is, slap some undercoat on it, base coast will be sure to follow and see what happens.

    Sometimes I pick out a singleton item (not part of a big project) and have a crack at it regardless and don’t care about the outcome.

    I’m working through some Navwar WWII French ships under the same process. I painted the Strasbourg and now fine myself half way through the French Starter Pack 🙂

  3. scullmeister
    December 6, 2009 at 08:20

    Thanks for the motivational tips guys, I really appreciate it.

    I’ve cleared the clutter of all those accusing, unpainted miniatures staring down at me. I’ve also cleared the workspace so everything is neat and tidy once again.

    I started painting miniatures because I loved to find a well sculpted figure and bring it to life with colour and tone. So I’m using that as a philosophy to move forward. Also I am only getting one miniature out at a time, because of my time constraints at the moment, I think seeing all those unpainted figures was really getting me down. I think it’s a realisation that I can only do so much, at the moment.

    Thanks for all your help and encouragement.

    Cheers 🙂

  4. Beccas
    December 6, 2009 at 09:54

    Play games. Everytime I have a bash I go home and paint.

    Hows the WWII Brit Airborne going? You need to finish that off as well so I can crush you with my SS for a DH/CF7B game.
    You need 2 Sections, HQ team, and a Vickers. Get painting.

    • scullmeister
      December 6, 2009 at 10:54

      Yeah, OK, I got them as well. I’ve got one section. I can always combine them with my French again, but that might scare you off, eh?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

